Historical Website on Louisquisset Brothers & Much More
Where the Conklin Limestone Company operates
today is one of America's first quarries started in the 1660s when Thomas Harris
and Gregory Dexter began mining limestone along Rte 146 in
Lincoln. Right nearby are several abandoned quarries now filled with water.
Limestone was an integral part of the building in
early Rhode Island. It made strong plasters and mortars during the 1600s-1700s
for the wooden clapboard houses with the stone-enders, an entire wall made of
field stone and held together by the limestone mortar. Several of these
stone-enders are still visible in Rhode Island today, including the Valentine
Whitman House, Corner of Great Rd & Whalen Rd in Lincoln and the 1687
Eleazer Arnold House on Great Road in Lincoln.
Over a hundred years ago, cement replaced
limestone mortar in construction, but lime is still heavily utilized today to
neutralize New England's acidic soils. Three hundred years of lime excavation
has been ongoing at this site, yet the lime is nearly gone. A large lake, over
twenty acres, will be created at this site.
Great Road is still one of America's earliest and most significant examples
of extraordinary architecture and valuable history. During the 1800s, this
former Indian path was a main route to Providence. There is a blend of several
architectural styles including colonial and Federal and Greek revival shown in:
the Mowry Tavern, a former stopover lodge for travelers which is now a
private residence which however, still bears the Tavern sign, the Masonic Mount
Moriah Lodge, the 1704 Friends Meeting House, the Nation's oldest Quaker
meetinghouse still in continuous operation, Chase Farm, Moffitt Mill, one of the
earliest machine shops.
One of Rhode Island finest Federal style homes,
the Hearthside and its nearby early textile mill, the Butterfly mill, weaves a
sad tale of early history in the life and misfortunes of Stephen Smith.
Circa 1810, Stephen Smith fell in love with an affluent Quaker lady from
Providence who made known that she would only marry a man who could provide her
with the handsomest of houses. Though not a poor man, Mr. Smith could not
offer her this, but he instead, bought lottery tickets from the Louisiana State
Lottery (which was a fund raising effort for building Louisiana's
infrastructure). Incredibly, Stephen Smith won the lottery and spent most of the
large bounty on construction of the "North Woods" later known as Hearthside.
Mr. Smith excitedly fetched his lady love by
carriage to proudly show her the finest home built in the region. However, she
still complained that the house was way too far out in the woods, so he drove
back to Providence only to remain a bachelor for the rest of his life. Instead,
he built a three-story stone textile mill with a large chimney nearby. It
became known as the Butterfly Mill when the stone placement resembled a
butterfly. These stones have since been removed when the mill was lowered by a
level to become a residence. This mill never became very successful and Stephen
Smith used it as his residence when he transferred the Hearthside to his
CAPTAIN WILBUR KELLY
Bikeway at the Blackstone River State Park - Lower River Road, Lincoln, RI 02865
Contact: Al Klyberg Email address: firstname.lastname@example.org
Experience the site where all of the
transportation stories of the Blackstone River Valley come together. It is one
of the few remaining canal buildings in the Valley. Discover exhibits on the
construction and operation of the canal. Operated by RI DEM.
HANNAWAY BLACKSMITH SHOP
669 Great Road, Lincoln, RI 02865 401-726-0597
Contact: John Scanlon Email address: email@example.com
When open, experience the ring of the anvil and
the odor of coal and hot steel as blacksmiths forge pieces of the metal into
hinges, nails, and other household items.
1149 Great Road, Lincoln, RI, 02865 401-334-2182
Contact: Pat Choiniere Email address: firstname.lastname@example.org
This 17th Century Stone Ender, is the second
oldest house in Lincoln and the site of the first Town Meeting in Smithfield.
Life on and around the Line Quarry. Development of Limerock Lincoln in
677 Great Road, Lincoln, RI 02865 401-726-0597
Contact: Kathy Hartley Email address: email@example.com
A 19th century mansion with stories about the
turn-of-the century weaving business from costumed guides, when available.
374 Great Road, Lincoln, RI 02865 401-724-7249
Contact: Bruce Downing / Rosanne Cedroni Email address: firstname.lastname@example.org
Built in 1704, this is the oldest meetinghouse
in New England in continuous use.
487 Great Road, Lincoln, RI 02865 401-728-9696
Contact: George Christie Email address: email@example.com
A historic New England study property rarely
opened to the public. Built by Eleazor Arnold in 1693, the Arnold House is a
rare surviving example of a "stone-ender," a once common building type
first developed in the western part of England.
Nearby is the Rhode Island State Park, Lincoln
Woods and the historic Kelly House and its central
location for all types of transportation modalities that have been used during
the last three hundred years.