|RI National Register
Lincoln, R.I. is a historic community, with a
population of almost 21,000, that was established in 1650 but not
incorporated until 1871. The form of government is an
Elected Town Administrator ( Sue Shephard) and five member Town Council with
Home Rule Charter. Official Website
The third Tuesday of each month at 7:30 pm. Financial Town Meeting held the
second Monday in May.
Lincoln has seven villages: Albion, Fairlawn, Lime
Lonsdale, Louisquisset, Manville, Saylesville. The state's
homepage describes the tax rate and other relevant information.
“300 Years of History in Three
Centuries in Three Miles”
An ideal weekend
drive to interpret the transformation of the Blackstone River Valley
from farming to early factories prior to the American Industrial
Revolution can be found along one scenic roadway in Lincoln, RI
The Great Road
(Route. 123), which extends between the villages of Saylesville and
Limerock, follows the course of the Moshassuck River, presents a series
of structures ranging from the 17th to the 19th Centuries that is little
interrupted by modern intrusions.
Some of the most
notable structures along the way can be found if traveling northerly on
Great Road from Route 126 and continuing along a portion of Route 123
and continuing right at its fork with Breakneck Hill Road.
374 Great Road
Built in 1704, it served as the first house of worship here in Lincoln.
Outside of the Quaker Meeting House, on historical Great Road, there is
still the old mounting stone used to help people to get into their
carriages. Weekly services are still held to this day.
487 Great Road
One of the oldest houses in Rhode Island, the Eleazer Arnold house is a
17th century "stone-ender." General LeComte de Rochambeau leader of the
French expeditionary forces, who fought at Yorktown, once stayed there.
The newly renovated Moffett Mill was a two-story building is believed to
be the first machine shop constructed in Rhode Island. Wagons, wheels,
and shoelaces are just some of the products that were produced here.
Resting along the Moshassuck River, on historic Great Road, this old
mill now serves as a tourist attraction.
Thomas Arnold originally purchased the land at Chase Farm in 1661. In
the late 1800's, the Chase Family started a dairy farm on the land, and
delivered milk door to door until 1965. This was one of the last working
farms in Lincoln, purchased by the Town and preserved for its historical
value and open space. The Butterfly Gardens, which are maintained by
volunteers, serves as a focal point to this scenic landscape.
669 Great Road
Small shops like the Hanaway Blacksmith Shop were once commonplace here
in Lincoln, RI. Built in 1850 by William Hanaway, this one-story
building was donated to the town, moved across the street to Chase farm,
677 Great Road
Stephen Hopkins Smith built this gorgeous two-story home in 1810. Legend
has it that he built the house to impress a young lady with winnings
from a Louisiana State Lottery. The young lady commented that she did
not know why anyone would want to live in the wilderness. As a result of
her rejection, he never married. The town now owns the site, and
Hearthside has become the backdrop to many public and private social
Known as one of the finest
examples of early 19th century federal-style houses in the state, it is on
National Register of
Historic Places. The unique 2 ˝ story house is built of fieldstone,
which was rare in dwellings at that time.
The home’s design includes a
gable roof with impressive ogee curves above circular attic windows. There are
10 fireplaces in the 10-room home.
become known as "The House That Love Built" because of the romantic history
behind the building of this beautiful house that was constructed by lottery
For more about the house tours
and future events, contact Hearthside at 401-334-2209, or visit the website at
Whitman Jr. House
1147 Great Road
Located at 1147
Great Road, Lincoln, RI, this 1694 built
home is one of a few surviving "stone-end" houses built in the 17th
century. Mr. Valentine Whitman was a friend of Roger Williams, founder
of Rhode Island. The first town meeting of old Smithfield, which
included the present day Town of Lincoln, was held in this house in
Whitman House will also be open for other public viewings this year. For
more details contact 401-334-2182 or get more information on the web at
information on the Town of Lincoln call 401-333-1100 or go to the
Blackstone Valley Tourism Council has a FREE Blackstone Valley
DeTours map of a Great Road Driving Tour that can be picked at any
of the Blackstone River Valley visitor centers or downloaded FREE at
More information on the Great Road area
can be obtained by calling Lincoln Town Hall at 401-333-1100 or on the web at
– 300 years in 3 miles “The Heart and Song of the Blackstone River” -
Ordinary People, Everyday Lives
Lime Rock and Other Lincoln Treasures
669 Great Road, Lincoln, RI 02865 401-726-0597
Contact: John Scanlon Email address: firstname.lastname@example.org
Experience the ring of the anvil and the odor
of coal and hot steel as blacksmiths forge pieces of the metal into hinges,
nails, and other household items. Blacksmithing displays and demonstrations.
1149 Great Road, Lincoln, RI, 02865 401-334-2182
Contact: Pat Choiniere Email address: email@example.com
This 17th Century Stone Ender, is the second
oldest house in Lincoln and the site of the first Town Meeting in Smithfield.
Life on and around the Line Quarry. Development of Limerock Lincoln in 1690’s.
The Moffat Mill is a small clapboard
building set on a stone foundation along its dam and pond that was built in 1812
as a machine shop that later made braid trim and
677 Great Road, Lincoln, RI 02865 401-726-0597
Contact: Kathy Hartley Email address: firstname.lastname@example.org
A 19th century mansion with a storied past.
374 Great Road, Lincoln, RI 02865 401-724-7249
Contact: Bruce Downing / Rosanne Cedroni Email address: email@example.com
Built in 1704, this is the oldest meetinghouse
in New England in continuous use.
ELEAZER ARNOLD HOUSE
487 Great Road, Lincoln, RI 02865 401-728-9696
Contact: George Christie Email address: firstname.lastname@example.org
A historic New England study property
rarely opened to the public. Built by Eleazor Arnold in 1693, the Arnold House
is a rare surviving example of a "stone-ender," a once common building
type first developed in the western part of England.
The former Butterfly Mill, now an
attractive private home, was built by Stephen Smith in 1811 as a textile
printing mill. Its name came from the appearance of a butterfly pattern set in
North Gate Toll House 246 Lincoln, Lincoln, RI 02865, 401-725-2847,
Historic building built in 1807. Served as a Toll-house for the Louisquisset
The Paul Ronci Memorial Park on Front
Street is a 34 acre park bordering a four mile stretch of the 1828 Blackstone
CAPTAIN WILBUR KELLY
Bikeway at the Blackstone River State Park - Lower River Road, Lincoln, RI 02865
Contact: Al Klyberg Email address: email@example.com
Experience the site where all of the
transportation stories of the Blackstone River Valley come together. It is one
of the few remaining canal buildings in the Valley. Discover exhibits on the
construction and operation of the canal. Operated by RI DEM.
Lincoln also has recently published a bike
and trail map that indicates some of the recreational opportunities that are
ongoing. They include: The Kelly House, Lime
Rock and state park Lincoln Woods which all
play a large role in Lincoln.
The Northern R. I.
Chamber of Commerce is located in Lincoln and the John H.. Chafee National
Corridor website has a page
of interest on Lincoln's resources. Below: Old photo of Lincoln Park racing.