Blackstone Douglas Grafton Hopedale Mendon Millbury Millville Northbridge Sutton Upton Uxbridge

Table of Contents ll Shops/Dining ll Explore the Valley ll Home 

Google

SUTTON

SPEAK OUT: Sutton's Community Forum     Other Local Forums

  Valley Regional calendar ll   Sutton Community Calendar

Helpful Phone #s l General Resources l Official Sutton Site l Historical Society Site

Tell-Tale Treasures: Keys to the Past  ll  Rte 146 Overlay District

National Register's Sutton Properties  ll Manchaug Greenway ll A Look At Manchaug 1891

Sutton Churches:

Baptist: First Baptist Church, Central Turnpike, West Sutton

Catholic: St Mark's on Boston Rd, St Anne's on Manchaug Road

Congregational: First Congregational Church, Boston Rd. at Common

Episcopal; St John's Episcopal, Main St, Wilkinsonville

Assets: St. John's Cemetery - Dodge Cemetery - Eight Lots Historic School - Merrill Pond Wildlife Mgmt Area - Town Farm Cemetery - Boat Ramp (off Tuttle Rd off Singletary), Putnam Cemetery - Blacksmith Cemetery - Woodbury Cemetery - Sutton Center Cemetery - Howard Cemetery - Arsmby Cemetery - Waters Farm (historic) - Manchaug Pond Boat Ramp - Historic Manchaug Baptist Church - Pigeon Hill Cemetery - Sutton State Forest - Purgatory Chasm - South Sutton Cemetery - Singletary Lake (1/2 Millbury) - Ramshorn Pond - Welsh Pond - Putnam Pond - Adams Pond - Arnold Pond - Thompson Pond - Town Farm Pond - Manchaug Wildlife Area & Pond - Stevens Pond - Tucker Pond - Burdow Pond - Smith Pond - several reservoirs

Sutton Senior Center Acting Director - Carol Smith. Carol-sutton-coa@myway.com

VAILLANCOURT FOLK ART 
Moved to MAnchaug Mills, Manchaug center 508-865-9183 fax: 508-865-4140
Contact: Gary Vaillancourt Email address: gfvsutton@aol.com
Website:
www.valfa.com

Vaillancourt handcrafts the finest in Christmas collectables including German glass ornaments and historic chalkware figures hand made from our collection of 3,000 antique chocolate molds.

WATERS FARM
53 Waters Road, Sutton, MA 01590 508-865-4886 or 508-865-0101 farm answering service fax: 508- 865-8721 fax cover required
Contact: Bud Gurney Email address: wmbien@yahoo.com
Website:
www.watersfarm.com

Discover a hilltop homestead built in 1757 by Stephen Waters, listed on the National Register of Historic Places, is located in Sutton, Massachusetts overlooking beautiful Lake Manchaug. With stunning views of the lake, barns, outbuildings, and pristine farmland, Waters Farm offers visitors a rare glimpse of 19th century New England farm life at its best.

EATON FARM CONFECTIONERS 
30 Burbank Rd., Sutton, MA 01590 508-865-5235 fax: 508-865-7087
Contact: Rich Lukason Website:
www.eatonfarmcandies.com

Discover one of the oldest independent candy manufacturers in America since 1892

BRICK BLOCK 
314 Boston Rd, Sutton Center, MA 01590 508-865-6928
Contact: Linda Sinacola Email address:
hotelpond@juno.com

The exceptionally preserved Historic Washington Hall in the brick block building in Sutton Center.

Events: Christmas In July - mid July ll Waters Farm Days - Early October 

Sutton celebrated a year long scope of events in 2004 for its 300th anniversary thanks to the broad collaboration of many involved residents and business people. Each year, Sutton provides a wonderful variety of good cheer and fun events with its Chain of Lights Holiday Festival held the first Saturday in December. Business is starting to expand in Sutton, but mostly along Rte 146, allowing the scenic beauty to remain unspoiled. Land donations have created a Greenway that passes Lake Manchaug.

Sutton's Historical Locations:

The Eight Lots Schoolhouse - This one room schoolhouse was built soon after the land was deeded in 1784. In over 200 years, the exterior is original. Classes were held until 1895 and then again from 1911-1918. In the 1920s, former pupils joined to form the Eight Lots School Association but the membership had diminished to 7 members by 1990. The school was deeded to the Historical Society in 1990 so that maintenance would continue.

Manchaug Baptist Church: This church, built in 1842, was deeded to the Historical Society in the 1960s when membership dwindled to only a few persons. Monthly meetings are usually held here on the first Tuesday of the month and this beautiful building can be rented for weddings or special occasions.

The M.M. Sherman Blacksmith Shop: This Blacksmith-Wheelwright was built around 1893 and was purchased by the Society in 1971 still being used with all the tools, oxen hoist and wheelwright machinery intact. Daniel Dudley built the shop and then sold it years later to Hollis Sherman, father of Lewis Sherman, who closed the shop in 1953. Society members still demonstrate its tools and services on occasion.

General Rufus Putnam School: The Olive Branch of the Master Masons built this school in 1823. After 1844, this was used as a schoolhouse, DAR meeting place and subsequently as the town's public library. The Historical Society's collection is housed in this building.

Darling Barn - donated by David Picard family of Manchaug to Waters Farm in 1988, dismantled in 1990 and moved on January 17, 1991 by 16 draft horses from MA, CT, RI and stored until April 1994 until erected by David Stevenson of Sutton.

This same style barn was built by Stephen Waters, circa 1760, removed by grandson Nathan in 1849 and replaced with a 40 x 60" structure which was lost in the 1938 hurricane.

Donors: Fundraising events, JHCNHC $40,000, Mildred and Bob Pierce $20,000 barn restoration

Other artifacts: letter from Stephen's granddaughter Rebecca, a missionary to the Indians in Iowa, who wrote to Walter Waters in 1896. She tells of her grandfather keeping his cider brandy in the root cellar.

Trail: Al Beaton Trail in Sutton at Waters Farm - north side of the Darling Barn proceeding easterly, then southerly to Manchaug Lake, joining the Beaton property. Here it passes over a rambling brook flowing from the old John Waters 1830 mill site. Then it passes Al's trout ponds and continues into the Douglas woods.

Sutton's scenic roads are: Boston Road, Century Farm Road, Lincoln Rd., Eight Lots Road, Town Farm Road, Mendon Road, Rich Road, Manchaug Road, Purgatory Road, Buttonwood Ave., Hartness Road, Central Turnpike, Douglas Road, Waters Road, West Sutton Road, Burbank Road, Sibley Road, Stone School Road, Hutchinson Road

 

----------------------

Sutton celebrated a year long scope of events in 2004 for its 300th anniversary thanks to the broad collaboration of many involved residents and business people. Each year, Sutton provides a wonderful variety of good cheer and fun events with its Chain of Lights Holiday Festival held the first Saturday in December. 

Business is starting to expand in Sutton, but mostly along Rte 146, allowing the scenic beauty to remain unspoiled. Land donations have created a Greenway that passes Lake Manchaug.

Sutton's Historical Locations:

The Eight Lots Schoolhouse - This one room schoolhouse was built soon after the land was deeded in 1784. In over 200 years, the exterior is original. Classes were held until 1895 and then again from 1911-1918. In the 1920s, former pupils joined to form the Eight Lots School Association but the membership had diminished to 7 members by 1990. The school was deeded to the Historical Society in 1990 so that maintenance would continue. 

Manchaug Baptist Church: This church, built in 1842, was deeded to the Historical Society in the 1960s when membership dwindled to only a few persons. Monthly meetings are usually held here on the first Tuesday of the month and this beautiful building can be rented for weddings or special occasions. 

The M.M. Sherman Blacksmith Shop: This Blacksmith-Wheelwright  was built around 1893 and was purchased by the Society in 1971 still being used with all the tools, oxen hoist and wheelwright machinery intact. Daniel Dudley built the shop and then sold it years later to Hollis Sherman, father of Lewis Sherman, who closed the shop in 1953. Society members still demonstrate its tools and services on occasion. 

General Rufus Putnam School: The Olive Branch of the Master Masons built this school in 1823. After 1844, this was used as a schoolhouse, DAR meeting place and subsequently as the town's public library. The Historical Society's collection is housed in this building. 

Town Meeting

At the 10/20/03 Town Meeting, voters decided to continue the lease arrangement that the Sutton Conservation Commission has with the hard working Waters Farm Preservation Inc. to oversee the buildings and activities, especially Waters Farm Days, held at the location each year. Voters offered a full discussion on this article with two amendments being offered in the discussion. One would limit the lease to 25 acres, but concern was indicated that "chopping up" this parcel would fragment the Master Planning for this lovely scenic and historic site. The other amendment  merely verified that the Conservation Commission is the landlord and use is for sonservation only. Aproval, after discussion, was unanimous to allow Waters Farm Preservation Inc to continue the 99 year lease although each party can end the lease with a years notice under a special provision.