The Tea House at Whitin
Park, Whitinsville (Northbridge)
From the plaque at the site "
Sarah, or Tannie as she was affectionately called, was a graduate of Wellesley
College where she became a trustee after her husband's death. Mrs. Whitin had a
keen interest in the world around her, and she participated in a variety of
In 1898, her interest in
astronomy led her to fund the construction of an observatory for Wellesley
College. She oversaw every aspect of the design and the purchase of the
equipment. The Whitin Observatory is still very active today.
Mrs. Whitin died in 1917.
In 1938, the Tea House was spared
by the devastating hurricane that damaged much of the surrounding landscape. In
1943, the Whitin mansion was razed, and the Whitin family deeded the upper
property of the estate to the George Marston Whitin Memorial Association."
The Gerry Gaudette Pavilion was
built in 2006 near the location of the Tea House on the John C. Whitin estate.
Gerry Gaudette had been a strong advocate of the Blackstone Valley throughout
"The design of the new Tea House
by Manitou Architects of Boston recalls several design elements of the original
In 1875, John C. Whitin married
his second wife, Sarah Elizabeth (Pratt). The little tea house, nestled in a
grove of evergreens, served as a retreat where Mrs. Whitin would entertain her
guests." The tea house became structurally unsafe and was torn down in the 1970s
but the new tea house now stands.
Tea House not fully completed 8.20.06